NORDCHAM VIETNAM EGM & AGM 2020 – New Executive Board elected

On the 11th March 2020, NordCham Extraordinary General Meeting (EGM) and Annual General Meeting (AGM) was held simultaneously in Hanoi and Ho Chi Minh City.

After the opening speech of Nordcham Chairman – Mr. Soren Pedersen, the EGM was conducted, with the aim to vote on a charter change to increase more board members, from 8 to 12, in order to ensure a broader diversity and to better serve growing number of members and community. The change was approved, with unanimous vote in favour.

After that, the AGM started with the report on the Member Overview, in which Nordcham showed a positive change in the number of members after its recent renewal, counting nearly 70 members to February 2020. Financial Statement 2019 was presented and approved, followed by the report of Activities 2019. Apart from signature activities such as monthly Get-together and Member exclusive Round-tables, last year Nordcham has done fruitful collaboration with other chambers and Nordic embassies as well as offered its members great benefits through corporate partner programs with Thai and Qatar Airways.

Next, the Activity 2020 were presented with a plan to upgrade current featured activities, engage in the development of the EVFTA and organize the Nordic Alumni Day.

In the voting session, a quorum of Nordcham’s members elected the new Executive Board, consisting of:

1.   Mr. Soren Pedersen (DK)
2.   Mr. Preben Hjortlund (DK)
3.   Mr. Thue Quist Thomasen (DK)
4.   Mr. Michael Them Rasmussen (DK)
5.   Ms. Lone Larsen (DK)
6.   Mr. Robert Ameln (SE)
7.   Mr. Pietro Karjalainen (FI)

The appointment of the Chair, Vice Chair and Treasurer will be voted soon during the next board meeting of the new Executive Board. At that time, responsibilities of each Board Member will be assigned according to the 2020 Activity Calendar of the chamber.

Grant Thornton was voted in favour as auditor for 2020.

In the closing remark, Nordcham Chairman stated his appreciation to all members, sponsors, staff and board for their support and contribution over the years.